See Who Takes Over From Jega As He Bows Out As INEC Chairman (Pictured)

Attahiru Jega has handed over the chairmanship of the
Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to
Mohammed Wali, a national commissioner of the electoral
body from the north-west. Jega handed over to Wali at
the INEC headquarters in Abuja. Six other national
commissioners also ended their tenure.


They are: M.K. Hammanga, Adamawa state, (northeast);
Ishmael Igbani, Rivers state, (south south); Lai Olurode,
Osun state, (south west); Gladys Nwafor, Abia state,
(south east); Thelma Iremiren, Delta state, (south south);
and Nuru Yakubu, Yobe state, (north east).

While his five-year tenure lasted, Jega conducted two
general elections in 2011 and 2015 and the elections were
adjudged to be better than some of the previous ones.

Last week, Jega, a former vice-chancellor of the Bayero
University Kano (BUK) and a former president of the
Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), said he
would be returning to the classroom after leaving INEC.

The tenure of the new acting chairman will end on August
11, 2015.

An indigene of Sokoto state, Wali obtained his first degree
from Usman Danfodiyo University, Sokoto and an MBA
from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaira. He was elected into
the senate in 1999 and was appointed to committees on
selection, senate services, public accounts, defense and
federal character.

Wali also served as the senate leader between June 1999
and November 1999. In 2003, he contested the
governorship election under the platform of the Peoples
Democratic Party (PDP). Former president Olusegun
Obasanjo appointed him minister for the national planning
commission (NPC) and later deputy chairman in 2007. He
has also served as Nigeria’s ambassador to Morocco.

Related Article

Posted By bobricky On 03:56 Tue, 30 Jun 2015

Comments:0 || Views:



Please LOGIN or REGISTER To Gain Full Access To This Article